15 Famous IITians in Indian politics.

15 Famous IITians in Indian politics.


Here i prepared a list of famous IITians entered into politics. From a technical engineering background to Politics.

1.Alok Agarwal:

  • A 1989 Chemical Engineering graduate of IIT Kanpur,  has devoted the last 25 years of his life towards the Narmada Bachao Andolan.
  • In January 2014, Alok Agarwal joined  Aam Aadmi party (AAP). Presently, he is national spokesperson of Aam Aadmi Party and Convenor of Aam Aadmi Party, Madhya Pradesh

 2.Manohar G. Parrikar:

  • A Bombay IIT graduate in the year 1978.
  • His discipline was Metallurgical Engineering.
  • Born on December 13, 1955 in smallest state in India Goa .
  • First Indian IIT turned chief minister.

3.Jairam Ramesh:

  • Jairam Ramesh was born on 9 April 1954 in Karnataka, India.
  • His father was a Professor of Civil Engineering in IIT Bombay.
  •  He considers himself a practicing Hindu with Buddhism ingrained and calls himself a ‘Hind-Budh’.[2]
  • Ramesh graduated from IIT Bombay in 1975 with a BTech in Mechanical Engineering.

4.Sudheendra Kulkarni:

  •  Indian politician and columnist.
  •  He then attended the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay.[1]
  • A former member of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)
  • ,[2] Kulkarni joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1996.
  • Kulkarni resigned from the BJP in 2009.
  • In January 2012, he was reported to be once more working full-time for the BJP, on this occasion as an adviser to its president, Nitin Gadkari.

5.Nandan Nilekani:

  • Nandan Nilekani was born on 2 June 1955 at, Karnataka.
  •  Bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai.
  •  In 1981, Nilekani, Murthy, and five others left Patni to start their own company, Infosys.
  • Nilekani left Infosys in July 2009 for cabinet-ranking position offered by then PM Dr. Manmohan Singh to head the biggest social project on the planet  Unique Identification Authority of India(bio metric identification for all Indians )
  • Nilekani joined Indian National Congress in March, 2014
  • Contested 2014 Lok Sabha election from the Bangalore South constituency but unfortunately he lost by 2,28,575 votes.

6.Krishan Kant

  • Former Vice President (BHU Almni – Now an IIT)

7.Ved Prakash Goyal

  • Born on 1926 in Haryana
  • Was Union Minister of shipping in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government in India from 2001 to 2003.
  • Workd  Bharatiya Janata Party treasurer   for a long time.
  •  Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) Varanasi. Graduate
  • He died on December 17, 2008.

8.Shri Manoj Sinha

  • Minister of state for Railways and the member of 16th Lok Sabha
  • representing Ghazipur Lok sabha constituency.
  • He is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party.
  • Shri Manoj Sinha was born on July 1, 1959
  • He has a B. Tech. degree in civil engineering from Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) Varanasi.
  • He is currently holding Minister of State (Railways) in Narendra Modi’s government.[3]

9.Arvind Kejriwal, Aam Aadmi Party

  • IIT Kharagpur Alumni
  • IIT in first attemp
  •  Delhi CM in First attempt

10.Ajit Singh (Choudhary Ajit Singh)

  • He was born on 12 February 1939
  •  He is the founder and chief of the Rashtriya Lok Dal, a political party well recognized in state of Uttar Pradesh.at village Bhadola in Meerut, Uttar Pradesh. He is the son of former Prime Minister of India and great leader late Choudhary Charan Singh.
  • Ajit Singh was first elected to Rajya Sabha in 1986.

He was elected to Lok Sabha (lower house of Indian Parliament) from Baghpat in 1989. He was Minister of Industry in V. P. Singh’s cabinet from December 1989 to November 1990.[1] During Indian general election, 1991, he was re-elected to Lok Sabha from his constituency, Baghpat. He briefly served as Minister of Food in P. V. Narasimha Rao’s cabinet.[1] Ajit Singh again was elected to parliament from Baghpat, in 1996. He lost from his constituency in 1998. He founded Rashtriya Lok Dal, and was re-elected to parliament from Baghpat in 1999, 2004 and 2009.

  • He lost in 2014 general elections.
  • During 2001 to 2003, he was Minister of Agriculture in Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s government.[1]
  • After his party joined the ruling United Progressive Alliance in 2011, he was Minister of Civil Aviation from 18 December 2011 to 25 May 2014.In his tenure The Govt of India allowed 49% foreign investments in Civil Aviation
  • His son Jayant Choudhary, was a member of 15th Lok Sabha from Mathura, Uttar Pradesh.( He is a B.Sc., B. Tech. and M.S. from Lucknow University, IIT Kharagpur and Illinois Institute of Technology. He is a computer scientist by profession.)

11.Manoj Kumar Das:

  •  former Municipal commissioner of Surat, India.
  • He completed his B.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur.

12.Prem Das Rai:

  • – Someone who had both IIT & IIM degree.

13.Raghuram Rajan:

  • Raghuram Govinda Rajan
  •  23rd Governor of the Reserve Bank of India
  • Raghuram G.Rajan was born 1963 in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh in a Tamil family
  • graduated from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
  • with a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1985
  • He won Director’s Gold Medal in IIT Delhi

14.Tanmay Rajpurohit :

  •  the national president of the party and B Tech in aerospace from IIT Bombay followed by an MS from GeorgiaTech and double masters in arts.”But my inner voice told me that I should invest my efforts in my country rather than making my pockets heavier,” said Ajit Ashwalayan Shukla, vice president of the party.

15.Ankit  Tripathi:

  • After completing his B Tech (mechanical) from IIT-Bombay in 2001, Tripathi worked in a MNC in US for two years. Later, he cam back to India and since then, he has been working with a IT company in Bangalore.
  • said Tripathi, who will file his nomination papers from one of the constituencies in his hometown Lucknow.

Will add more to the listing soon. NB:

Share this post